top of page

WOW!

Wow! I am so blown away and thankful to all my supporters and doctors who have helped me be healthy enough to race so quickly! As I travelled to DesMoins for the CAMTRI Pan American Junior Elite championships I had only ran full body weight a couple times. Going there I had put a lot of pressure on myself and felt a lot of pressure thinking back to everybody that helped me. I felt as though I was racing for not only myself but them as well. My legs were feeling good and I was super excited to race! I knew that there was still a possibility that I may not achieve my goals because of some setbacks earlier but I was determined not to let those thoughts affect how I raced.

The race itself was so fun and I enjoyed every moment of it! I knew that the swim and the bike wouldn't be a problem since I and been training for those disciplines a lot while injured. On the run I knew I had to run as fast as I could with the small lead I had on the other competitors off the bike. On the run I felt unstoppable and loved the feeling of running. As I approached the line I looked back and realized there was no body near me. I got to celebrate my amazing 4th place finish! In this race there was a chance for Canada to receive an automatic World Championship spot. In order to do so a Canadian had to get on the podium and be the first Canadian to cross the finish line. I did cross the finish line as first Canadian but just nearly missed the podium finishing 4th. There will be another chance to get an automatic Worlds spot at Nationals next weekend. In DesMoins I learnt to not doubt my abilities and that I am able to do anything when I set my mind to it.


bottom of page