top of page

Long time no see...

It has been a very long time since I've written a blog and a lot has happened! I guess the last time I updated my blog was after Worlds! Let me catch you up with what's going on...

After Worlds in Cozumel I took about a month off of training and hung out with friends and went on casual bikes and runs.. which frequently ended with ice cream!

I had decided that since I wasn't going to school that I would travel and train with some new people. I went out to Victoria, B.C and started training with the National Performance Centre. I went out at the beginning of November and stayed until Christmas time. Victoria was beautiful and I loved all of the amazing training that was offered there! All of my training partners were absolutely amazing. The training was a lot different then what I had been used to but I was loving it and felt myself improving in the short time that I was there.

I went home for about a week at Christmas and then left home again for a long 4 month camp with the National team down in Arizona. About half of the group that I was training with in Victoria came down as well.

The first few weeks of being down in Arizona went by so slowly and I was quite homesick. I had no idea how I would stay there for 4 months! We got a couple days off to recharge and go home and that is exactly what I needed. When I came back to Arizona I felt recharged and ready to train hard!

Our training camp led into the North American Championships down in Florida. That race has always been one of my favorites and I was super excited to see how all of my training over the winter had paid off. I executed a good race and surprised myself with a 3rd place finish.

After that race I went back home and decided to stay home. I had committed to Arizona state University and wanted to spend some time with my family before I left for school.

I have since then done a couple races, my biggest being Nationals in Ottawa. That race wasn't my biggest focus for the summer but I surprised myself by winning the Junior race and securing my spot for the 2017 World Championships!

I recently raced the Junior Pan-American CAMTRI championships in Magog, Quebec which went very well! My training is paying off and I couldn't be happier!

Next up for me is Canada games right here in Winnipeg! I am so excited to race with my friends and family watching!


bottom of page